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WYV Has New DUI Law

The West Virginia Legislature passed and the Governor
signed a new Driving Under the Influence law this spring. Besides
changing some administrative responsibilities regarding the Depart-
ment of Motor Vehicles and the process by which the defendant
loses his/her license, the law changed mandatory jail times and cre-
ated a new offense of driving under the influence with a B.A.C. of
more than .15.

Here is a summary of the changes to the criminal code re-

garding DUI and related offenses.

17B-4-3
(a) Driving on a suspended license for non-DUI offense.

1% offense
was: Fine of $100-500.
now: no change.

2" offense
was: 10 days in jail plus fine of $100-500.
now: no jail, only fine of $100-500.

3" + offense
was: 6 months in jail plus fine of $150-500.
now: 30-90 days in jail plus fine of $150-500.



the (b) Driving on a revoked license for DUI conviction.

g " 1% offense
r-old was: 6 months in jail plus fine of $100-500.
now: 30 days — 6 months in jail plus $100-500.
DUI, nd
2" offense
T- was: 1 year in jail plus fine of $1,000-3,000.
now: 6 months — 1 year in jail, plus fine of $1,000-
ot an
3,000.
. Al- 3"+ offense
o was: Felony, 1-3 years in prison plus fine of $3,000-
gs. 5,000.

now: no change.

v (d) Driving on a revoked license for a DUI under the age 21
with .02-.08 BAC.
was: 24 hours in jail or fine of $50-500, or both.
now: no change.

" 17C-5-2
(a) DUI with reckless disregard causing death.
was: Felony, 2-10 years in prison plus fine $1,000-
3,000.
now: no change.

yM NOTAN ALESROUC
1M A DRUNK
'ALCOHOLICS 60 TO MEETINGS
(b) DUI causing death.
was: 90 days to 1 year in jail plus fine $500-1,000.
now: no change.

esti- (c) DUI causing bodily injury.
was: 1 day — 1 year in jail plus fine $200-1,000.
ople now: no change.
rove
(d) DUI with a B.A.C. of .08 - .14,
fal- was: .08 and higher.
the now: .08 - .14 B.A.C.

was: 24 hours — 6 months in jail plus fine $100-500.
the now: 0 hours up to 6 months in jail plus fine $100-

ealth (e) DUI with a B.A.C. of .15 or more.

ation New offense. 2 days — 6 months in jail, including
actual confinement of at least 24 hours plus fine
$200-1,000.

(f) - (g) No change.



America's Seat Belt Campaign:
Click It or Ticket

Click It or Ticket (CIOT) is the most successful seat belt
enforcement campaign ever, helping create the highest national seat
belt usage rate of 82 percent. Coast to coast, day or night, the mes-
sage is simple - Click It or Ticket. The cornerstone of NHTSA's
seat belt communications program is the national Click It or Ticket
May Mobilization. The primary audience continues to be men ages
18 to 34, which research shows are less likely to wear seat belts.

Seat belt use in 2007
stood at 82 percent, a slight gain &
from 81 percent use in 2006.
This result is from the National |

Occupant Protection Use Sur-
vey (NOPUS), which provides
the only nationwide probability-
based observed data on seat belt use in the United States. The

NOPUS is conducted annually by the National Center for Statistics

and Analysis of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administra-

tion.
The 2007 survey also found the following:

e Seat belt use in States in which motorists can be pulled over
solely for not using seat belts (primary offense) rose 2 percent-
age points to 87 percent in 2007.

e There is now a 14-percentage-point difference between use in
these States and those with weaker enforcement laws. (West
Virginia is not a primary offense state.)

o Seat belt use has risen steadily since NOPUS began collecting
data in 1994, and this has been accompanied by a steady decline
in passenger vehicle occupant fatalities per mile traveled.




WYV SEAT BELT USAGE RATE SECURES

~$5 MILLION GRANT
Money will be used for police car computers,

driver safety programs

On April 30, 2008, Vice Admiral Thomas J. Barrett, the
U.S. Department of Transportation deputy secretary, presented
a $5 million grant award to the Governor’s Highway Safety

s vy e rghE me, Program for the state’s “elite” seatbelt usage level.

West Virginia was one of only

five states to achieve that high of a

level of seat belt usage among its
residents.
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